David Theron Interview

You’d be pretty hard pressed to find somebody more ambitious than David Theron. The former Cab Driver / Miner turned Internet Sensation has released 6 studio albums in the past year and countless episodes of his Internet series “The Dave Show”. Brisbane’s best-kept secret talks to us about music, world domination, love and everything in-between.

Hello David Theron. Thank you for taking time out of your day to chat with us. For people unfamiliar with the world of Dave, please tell us a bit about yourself? Hello Nathan, thanks for interviewing me. My name is David Theron. I am a single 30-year-old musical and comedy artist from Brisbane. I love getting a great point across and making people feel happy. I enjoy singing and playing the guitar and piano. I also love playing sport like golf and tennis.

When did you decide to pursue a career in music? I have always wanted to play music as my career ever since I was a little boy. I have had previous jobs as a cameraman for Channel 9 and driving taxis in Brisbane but they didn’t work out. Music makes me happy and it is really important to stay happy. So I decided to sing and make other people happy.

David enjoying the perks of being an internet celebrity.
David enjoying the perks of being an internet celebrity.

Living or Dead, what musicians would you like to collaborate with in the future? I would love to work with Hilltop Hoods, Savage Garden, Megadeth, T-Pain, Snoop Dogg, Ozzy Osbourne, Colossvs, Pittbull, Zakk Wylde, Eminem, Vinnie Paul, Kiss, Pete Murray, She Cries Wolf, Powderfinger and Michael Jackson.

You’re in a league of your own musically, light years ahead of what is charting on the radio at the moment. What you are doing is so fresh and unique. What would you say to the naysayers who hate it? Well, I am making my own music style called Comedy Music. This style comes from comedians that sing on stages in front of people and add in funny jokes to catch people off guard and make them laugh out loud. If people hate my music, or me, they will need to come to my show so I can cheers them up.

You released 5 studio albums in 2014 and are looking at booking a National Tour this year. What else does 2015 have in store for you? 2015 is going to be a great year for me. I have promotional CD’s that I have been handing out to Clubs, Pubs, Theatres, Stadiums, Radio Stations and the local council. I am hoping that will promote my music and get me on The Ellen Show. I am hoping to get booked on a musical festival tour as well. I will be doing small to medium to large to mega shows. It is all progression. I have messaged Dave Grohl about playing The Foo Fighters Brisbane concert, cheers. *David did not end up playing with the Foo Fighters.

You have a large fan base throughout Australia. Who is the craziest fan you’ve ever encountered? The craziest fan I have ever met ripped my T-Shirt off me and said “You’re not getting back, its mine forever” I had to leave the club because security made me leave because I had no shirt to wear.

David meeting a fan after Soundwave 2015.
David meeting a fan after Soundwave 2015.

You have dozens of guitars. What is your favourite guitar to play? I love playing my left-handed Gibson Flying V. I use Marshall and Randall amps. When I play my comedy music live I don’t even play guitar on stage. I just sing.

You have been outspoken towards your hatred of TV Shows such as The Voice, X-Factor and Australia’s Got Talent. Why will we never see David Theron on this shows? The X-Factor and The Voice are only made for TV and last for 4 months. I am a timeless comedy musician. After the show nobody remembers you. They want to give you an image. Nobody can tell me what my image is unless you have lived in my body for 30 years. Ricky Martin and Kyle Sandilands can get lost. I am not going to follow trends. I make my own trends.

If you weren’t a professional comedy musician what would you be doing with your life? I would be snowboarding all year round in Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Japan. I am really good at snowboarding my best trick is a 360 off a ten foot kicker.

Davids signature drumkit.
Davids signature drumkit.

Talk us a through a typical day in the life of Dave. What is your schedule like? I wake up at 6:30am and my bedtime is 1:30am. I spend all my day recording music and singing songs. I make backing tracks. My brain is always on and I always wear my thinking cap when I work. I think of songs I can sing about. I want to play on the main stages at music festivals such as Soundwave and Big Day Out and play sold out stadium shows every night of the week. So I need to be dedicated and put in 19 hours a day to make my dream a reality.

Some people think you’re a troll who can’t sing at all. What would you like to say about that? I work hard and enjoy life. If you say shit about me on the Internet that’s fine by me, but those comments will haunt you when I see you on the street. I am a professional boxer; I will make you say that you’re sorry. People start rumors and say that I am gay. I am not gay or a virgin; I have a BIG love for women. I love ladies and the sweet parts are their wonderful minds, bodies and souls. When people tell me that I can’t sing, I just laugh at them and tell them to research the craft and learn the arts of singing. I am working on my 7th album. Don’t be afraid to try something. You never know if you can be a hero like me. I don’t follow rules and I do what I want when I want. I have respect for other singers. I just set the trends.

You collaborated with Matthew Payne on an album called Earmuffs. What was that experience like? Are you looking at making a follow up album with Matthew? I don’t want to talk about it. I am never working with Matthew Payne again. He is a fucking loser man. He wanted me to pick him up one day, so I drove over to his house and knocked on his door but he didn’t answer. His parents answered the door and told me he does not want to see me anymore. Its unfair, he can come over to my house but I am not allowed to go into his house. I can’t sit down and watch TV at his house but he is allowed to come over to my house drink my cordial and beers and eat my lamingtons and vomit everywhere. He didn’t even clean up the vomit so I rubbed his head in it and called him a taxi. He almost got me grounded. I have written a song about this and it’s a heavy metal comedy song. I get real angry when I rehearse it. I scream the lyrics. I will not be working with Matthew again. *At the time of this interview being published. David and Matthew have rekindled their friendship.

You make comedy music, who are your favourite comedians? Everybody Loves Raymond, Jerry Seinfeld. Chris Rock and Dave Chappelle are good for black comedians.

Davids backyard on fire as part of a stunt for The Dave Show.
Davids backyard on fire as part of a stunt for The Dave Show.

Can you describe your music in 5 words or less? Happy, Organic, Trendsetting, Comedy, Dangerous

What is the best show you have played? All of my shows are the best shows.

What is the worst show you have played? I was going to play a show at Fat Louie’s with Bradley Cummins but the security guard wouldn’t let me inside with my guitars. He said they were weapons of mass destruction. So I had to leave them in my car. I head banged to a few bands but got kicked out before my set because security saw me asleep on the couch.

That’s all the questions I have for you today David. Thank you for your time. Cheers, friends for life. Is there anything else you would like to add? Thank you so much for interviewing me and putting me on a magazine cover Nathan. Happy New Year to everyone on Facebook. I am happy to bring the happy tour to a stadium near you. If you would like me to sing a song for you just ask, I’m happy to do that for you. If you want to play some basketball with me, I’m happy to shoot some hoops with you. If you want to play golf with me, I’m happy to hit the green with you. If you would like to go on a date with me, I’m happy to be your lover. I will play birthdays, weddings, funerals, graduation parties, barbecues anywhere anytime. Thank you Nathan for interviewing me. Cheers, friends for life.

You can check out David’s music on his Bandcamp page below. www.davidtheron.bandcamp.com

Make sure to become a friend for life and add him on his personal Facebook page and join his official fan club group.

www.facebook.com/david.theron.3

www.facebook.com/groups/DAVIDTHERONFANPAGE

Leave a comment